Trap season underway

Hunter Osborn, Katie Welker ad Jack Anderson all had perfect scores of 25 and were all shooting on the same line. Welker and Anderson went on to end their run with 50 straight.

The spring season is underway for the Winner/Colome High School trap team.

They are in week 3 of competition scoring. There are five total weeks of competition.

There are 19 shooters from Winner and Colome high schools on the team. There are 51 high schools competing in two classes and 9 conferences in trap. Winner/Colome is in conference 4 along with DeSmet, Deuel, Lemmon, Parker and Wall high schools.

The Winner/Colome team is also competing in the state high school skeet league. There are seven team members shooting skeet.

The skeet league consists of 11 South Dakota high schools and two conferences. Winner/ Colome is in conference 2 along with Belle Fourche, Brookings, Dell Rapids, Deuel and Stanley County.

The state tournament for trap and skeet teams will be June 10-11 in Aberdeen. Several members of the trap team will also compete at the national tournament in Mason, Mich., July 6-10.

Golfers get ready to open season

Dan Bechtold/Winner Advocate Photo
Returning letterwinners on the Winner Area girls golf team are in front Gracie Root, Rylee Root. In back from left are Cici Watson, Tessa Mann and Devan Dougherty. Not pictured is Kelbie Meiners.

Golfers get ready to open season

Winner Area girls golf team will open the season April 14 when they travel to Mobridge.

There are 16 girls on the team with six returning letterwinners.

The returning girls who lettered are Rylee Root, Gracie Root, Kelbi Meiners, CiCi Watson, Tessa Mann and Devan Dougherty.

The only senior who graduated last year was Brennan Bachmann so this year’s team will have a lot of experience. Added to that will be some younger players who will help out the team.

There are two seniors—Emma Jorgensen and Marissa Meiners.

Coaching the team are Jim Halverson, who is the head coach and Elizabeth Jankauskas.

The girls have been practicing inside at the Winner Community Center due to the cold and very windy conditions. The girls are hoping the wind will die down and they can get on the course at Winner Country Club before making the long trip to Mobridge.

Last year the girls won the region tournament and placed third at the state meet. Rylee Root was the top placer at state as she took 11th.

This year the regional is in Mitchell and the state meet is at Bakker Crossing, just south of Sioux Falls.

The girls are looking for a good season and will enjoy the chance to be outside.

The golf schedule includes:

April 14—at Mobridge

April 22—at Mitchell

April 29—JV golf at Winner

May 6—at Stanley County

May 10—at Burke

May 13—at Winner

May 23—Pre-regional in Mitchell

May 26—Regional in Mitchell

June 6-7—State meet at Bakker Crossing

Keiser named Mitchell Republic wrestler of the year

Kaden Keiser of Winner has been named the Mitchell Republic wrestler of the year.

Keiser is a four time state placer and just recently won a national folk style title in Cedar Falls, Iowa.

Keiser is Winner’s only four time state placer.

The Winner senior has had the determination and drive to reach each of his wrestling goals.

Keiser will continue to wrestle in college. He will wrestle at Appalachian State in Boone, North Carolina. He plans to major in exercise science.

Volmer considered for player of the year

Blake Volmer of the Winner boys basketball team has been considered  for Mitchell Republic boys basketball player of the year.

Chosen as the player of the year was Mitchell’s Caden Hinker.

The 23-3 Warriors placed sixth at the state A tournament in Rapid City and Volmer was a big part of the success of the team this year. Volmer averaged 16.3 points, 8.9 rebounds along with 3.6 assists and 1.8 steals per game posting a season high 31 points.

Volmer is a junior and will return to the team next season.

Swedlund named all-state

Bella Swedlund of the Winner girls basketball team has been chosen for the Class A girls all-state team as chosen by the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association.

This is the fourth all state selection for the Winner senior. She’s making three straight first team  selections and was a second team honoree in 2019.

She finished as the state’s 15th all-time leading scorer with 2,256 career points. She is the first WHS girls player to score over 2,000 points in her career.

Swedlund will continue her basketball career at the University of Kansas.