Primary Election Set for June 5

Voters will go to the polls on June 5 to vote in the South Dakota primary election.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

In Tripp County, there is only one primary race and that is on the Republican ballot for county commissioner in District 1. The candidates are incumbent Mark Winter of Hamill and Ray Hannett of Winner.

There will also be a Republican primary for precinct committeeman and committee woman.

The candidates for committeeman are Jeff Krolikowski, Travis Tobin and Bradley Assman. Persons will vote for one.

The candidates for committeewoman are Dondee Krolikowski and Erin Tobin.

On the Democratic ticket there is a primary race for District 21 representative between Brian L. Jorgensen, Faith Spotted Eagle and Anna Kerner Andersson. Persons will vote for two of the three candidates.

Statewide, Republicans have a primary for governor and U.S. House of Representatives.

The candidates for governor are attorney general Marty Jackley and U.S. Congresswoman Kristi Noem.

The Republican candidates for U.S. House of Representative are Neal Tapio, secretary of state Shantel Krebs and former PUC member Dusty Johnson.

Also on June 5, South Dakota voters will decide whether the state’s crime victims rights laws are working.

Everyone will have a right to vote on Constitutional Amendment Y.

This is an amendment to the S.D. Constitution making revising certain provisions relating to the rights of crime victims.

In 2016, voters approved Marsy’s Law which expanded rights for crime victims and placed them in the state constitution. The amendment makes changes to Marsy’s Law.

As of Thursday afternoon there have been 34 absentee votes cast in the primary election.

The polling places in Tripp County for the election are: Clearfield Consolidated at Clearfield Hall, Colome Consolidated at Skatetown in Colome; Hamill Consolidated at Hamill Hall; Ideal Consolidated at First Presbyterian Church in Ideal; Lake Consolidated at Skatetown in Colome; Lamro Consolidated at 4-H center in Winner, Sully Consolidated at 4-H center in Winner, Witten Consoldiated at Witten community hall, All Winner precincts will vote at the 4-H center in Winner.

Elected President of the Southern District Dental Society

Dr. Zach McCready has been elected President of the Southern District Dental Society. The Southern District is a component society of the South Dakota Dental Association. Dr. McCready assumed the office during the Association’s 135th annual meeting, May 17-19, in Sioux Falls. He practices general dentistry in Chamberlain.

During their 135th annual meeting dentists refined their skills as dental professionals by attending a variety of continuing education courses offered by nationally known dental clinicians. Topics at this year’s meeting included lasers, airway disorders, pain management, implants, medical emergencies and radiology.

The South Dakota Dental Association is a 900-member organization of dentists and allied dental staff in South Dakota. The organization’s mission is the improvement of the dental health of the public and the promotion of the art and science of dentistry in South Dakota.

Dean’s List

Area students have been named to the spring semester dean’s list at South Dakota State University.

Named to the list are: Cameron Kuil, Carter; Nathan Farley, Hayley Halverson, Kylie Horstman, Rebecca Moorhead, Sydney Peters, Dylan Riedl, Coleton Schuyler and Madison Smither, all of Winner. Receiving a 4.0 grade point average were: Halverson, Moorhead, Peters, Riedl.

Bailey Baker of Winner has been named to the spring semester Dean’s list at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in Rapid City.

Allison Ekroth, Dallas, has been named to the Dean’s List at Mount Marty College.

Named to the Presidents Academic Honors list at Dakota State University are Isaac Kortan, Colome; Blenda Hadsall, Tawny Sherman, and Rachel Sherman, all of Winner.

Winner Athletes Place at State Track Meet

Winner High School boys and girls track team had a successful weekend at the state track meet in the Black Hills.

The WHS boys placed 10th and the girls took 24th.

The Winner boys 4×100 relay took second place in a time of :44.40. Runners were Riley Calhoon, Brady Fritz, Joren Bruun and Nolan Sachtjen.

Freshman Brady Fritz took third in the 100, long jump and triple jump.

Fritz ran the 100 in :11.18.

In the long jump, Fritz went 22-08 and in the triple jump on Friday in Spearfish he had a jump of 43-00.25.

In the shot put , Levi McClanahan placed 11th with a throw of 43-08 and Colton Schroeder placed 18th with a throw of 35-05.75.

In the discus, McClanahan placed 11th in 123-04.

Kade Watson ran the two mile and the open mile. In the two mile, Watson 15th in 10:58.13. In the mile, Watson ran a 5:15.14

On the girls side, Sidda Schuyler took fourth place in the two mile run. The Winner 8th grader had a time of 11:51.73.

In the mile run Saturday in Rapid City, Schuyler placed 8th in 5:26.61.

Kelsey Sachtjen placed 6th in the high jump at 4-11.

The Lady Warriors 4×800 team took 16th place in 11:19.48. The runners were Aryn Meiners, Meagan Blare, Melanie Brozik and Charlotte Shopene.

Krumpus Places at State

Haley Krumpus of Colome took fourth in the 200 at the state track meet in Rapid City.

Krumpus ran the 200 in :26.39.

The Colome athlete also took 8th place in the triple jump at 33-08.75.

The Colome girls ran the 4×100 relay in a preliminary time of :53.14. Runners were Matrix Noteboom, Baylee Hoffine, Saydee Heath and Haley Krumpus.

Winner/Colome Claims Region 4B Title

Winner/Colome baseball team won the Region 4B tournament with a 4-1 victory over Platte-Geddes on May 21 in Winner.

With the victory, the Royals remain undefeated 13-0.

Both teams advanced to the state tournament which was held in Sioux Falls at the Birdcage.

The first game for Winner/Colome in the state B tournament was against Lennox on May 28 at 7 p.m.

It’s quite an accomplishment making the state tournament, but I’m especially proud of winning the region championship,” said coach Drew Weber. “We have had quite a season and to add to a region championship is pretty special.”

In the region championship, Ty Bolton pitched a one hitter and struck out seven batters while allowing one run.

Riley Calhoon knocked in a pair of runs while Nick Lantz also drove in a run. Levi McClanahan, Layton Thieman and Oscar Pravecek each had a hit.

In the semifinals of the super regional, Winner/Colome blanked Lead-Deadwood 10-0.

Jackson Kinzer pitched a shutout in six innings. He had nine strikeouts.

Key batters for the Royals were Bolton with 2 singles, 2 RBIs; Lantz, 2 singles and 1 RBI; Kinzer, a single and 2 RBIs; Thieman, triple and 2 RBIs and Pravecek with an RBI triple.

We are playing our best ball of the past couple seasons right now and just hope that it continues,” said Weber. “Baseball is a funny game and anything can happen at any time but we feel confident that we are one of the best teams in the state and we intend on proving it in Sioux Falls.”

Alexandria Knocks Off Pheasants

Alexandria scored seven runs in the bottom of the sixth inning to defeat Winner/Colome amateur baseball team 12-8 Thursday in Sunshine League action in Alexandria.

The Angels were outhit 11-6.

Cole Wenande of Alexandria had a grand slam home run to drive in four runs.

For Winner/Colome, Reed Harter had three hits and drove in two runs. Lakin Neugebauer and Harter each scored twice and Derek Graesser had two hits and knocked in three runs.

Tarrell Bauld took the loss.

The Pheasants issued eight walks in the game.