Quiz Bowl Team Takes 2nd

The Winner High School quiz bowl team competed in the Q 107.3 competition on Jan. 6 in Mitchell.

The Winner team made up of Jacob Clay, Ronae Klein and Mary Calhoon took second place and won $500.

In the first round, Winner battled McCook Central and came out on top 6-5. Both teams entered the competition with no losses.

In the second round, Winner took on Hanson and were defeated by 2.

The third and fourth round Winner defeated Hanson 6-4, 6-5.

The final round, after two tie breakers, Winner lost by one to Hanson.

The competition began with 32 teams with radio competition and eliminated several teams down to 8 teams that were able to travel to Mitchell for the live competition.

Matches started in October and there were 63 total matches.

Handcock Becomes Partner at Animal Clinic

By Dan Bechtold, Editor

Dr. Laura Handcock has become a partner at Animal Clinic of Winner.

She has worked at the veterinary clinic in Winner for three years and became a partner before Christmas.

The other partners are Dr. John Voegeli, Dr. Tom Covey, Dr. Eric Heath with Dr. C.A. Owen as an associate.

Born and raised in Australia, Handcock is really excited to be partner. “As soon as I started working in Winner I wanted to be a partner as soon as I could,” she said.

Dean’s List

Brandon Bicek of Winner has been to the fall semester dean’s list at Northern State University.

Named to the fall honors list at Dakota State University are Isaac Kortan of Colome; Blenda Hadsall and Tawny Sherman, both of Winner.

Area students have been named to the fall dean’s list at the University of South Dakota.  Named to the dean’s list are: Mariah Kinzer and Sarah Shippy, both of Colome; Bailey Volmer, Cohl Turnquist, Colby Curtis, Colton Best, Molly Sperlich, Natalie Gronlund, all of Winner.   Named to the academic honors list at USD are Kaitlyn Labahn and Sissy Orel, both of Winner.


Youth Take Part in Coyote Hunt

Several youths took part in a Tripp County 4-H youth coyote hunt on Saturday.

The youths who took part in the hunt were Luke Hennebold, Justin Hausmann, Ryan Sell, Nathan Taylor, Clay Sell, Hunter Osborn, Elle Harris, Katie Welker, Selah Harris, Sully Shippy, Rowdy Moore, Tane Pravecek, Zoe Harris, Jack Ducheneaux.
The adult volunteers who helped were Tom Sell, Luke Kartak, Brandon Hauf, Jeff Gregg, Kelly O’Bryan, Dewayne Welker, Ryan Orel.

Conservation officers Travis March and Diana Landegent presented a safety lesson on Friday night. Jeff Gregg presented information on coyote hunting.

Pheasants Forever supplied each participant with a call and sponsored an electronic call door prize.

Tripp County 4-H Shooting Sports gave the winning team (Jack Ducheneaux and Katie Welker) each a $25 gift card to Jeff’s Gun Vault.

SDSU Dean’s List

Area students have been named to the fall semester dean’s list at South Dakota State University.

Named to the list are; Kamber Hossle and Eleanor Moleterno, both of Hamill; Nathan Farley, Nathan Galbraith, Hayley Halverson, Kylie Horstman, Krockett Krolikowski, Katie Mathis, Trace Meyer, Rebecca Moorhead, Coleton Schuyler, Madison Smither, all of Winner.

Halverson, Mathis, Meyer, Moorhead all had a 4.0 grade point average.