Lewis wins best of show

Galen Lewis of Winner won the best of show at the Prairie Cruisers car show on Saturday.

The winning entry was a 1970 Plymouth Barracuda.

There were 39 cars in the show held at the Tripp County Historical Society Museum.

Car show winners are:

Class 100: up to 1964-stock 1. Don Reinesch, 2. Ron and Lori Heidinger

Class 200: 1965 to 1972-stock 1. Jeff Swartz, 2. Tim Herman

Class 300: 1973 to present-stock 1. Dean Moon, 2. tie Dean Baker and Galen Lewis

Class 400: Up to 1964-modified 1. Kevin Kaiser, 2. Rose and John Stanffacher

Class 500: 1965 to 1972 modified  1. Galen Lewis, 2. Tammy and Lon McWhortrer

Class 700: Stock pickup  1. Craig Schaeffer, 2. Wayne Willuweit

Class 800:  modified pickup 1. Perry and Lorie Bicek, 2. Rich Kolecka

Class 900: Street rods  1. Larry Raterman, 2. Don Harter

Class 1000: open class motorcycle—rat rod car 1. Sam Sundall, 2. Perry and Lori Bicek, 3. Lon McWhorter

The oldest car was a 1928 Ford Lamonte by Lon McWhorter, Woonsocket.

The person who traveled the longest distance was Kevin Kaiser of Derby, Kan.

The most original, best preserved car went to Rob Brunmeier.

Ty Dimond, 32

Ty Dimond of Wood, South Dakota, died on Saturday, Sept. 2, 2023 in White River at the age of 32.

Survivors include his three daughters Jentry, Paisley, and Tierney; his fiance Nichole Lee and her children Braxtyn and Miah Olson; his mother Julie Hall of Wood; his sister Ashley Dimond (Cortney Krogman) and their son on the way, of White River; his brother Tate (Tierra) Dimond and their children Braedinn and Scott of Piedmont; his maternal grandfather Scott (Mary) Hall of Elizabeth, Colorado, his paternal grandmother Twila Edwards of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; his grandfather Mark (Delores) Edwards of St. Paul, Nebraska; and a host of other relatives and friends.

Ty was preceded in death by his father Scott Dimond; paternal grandfather Larry Dimond; and his maternal grandmother Joyce Hall.

Visitation will be held 4-7 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 7, at the Wood Community Hall.

Funeral services will be held 3 p.m. Friday, Sept. 8, at the Wood Community Hall.

Burial will follow at the Evergreen Cemetery in Wood. Memorial moneys received will go to a college fund for Ty’s daughters.

Arrangements are with the Rush Funeral Home of Philip.

Olga B. Borrell, 94

Olga B. Borrell, 94, Hastings, Neb.,  passed away Wednesday, Aug.30, 2023, at Mary Lanning Healthcare, Hastings, NE.   

 Services were held Tuesday, Sept. 5, at First St. Paul’s Lutheran Church in Hastings with Pastor Joel Remmers officiating. Burial was at Juniata Cemetery in Juniata. Memorials may be given to First St. Paul’s Lutheran Church. Condolences may be sent to the family at www.lbvfh.com. Livingston Butler Volland Funeral Home & Cremation Center is serving the family.

 Olga was born Aug. 6, 1929, in Winner, SD to Frank A. and Alba M. (Rohla) Ptacek. She married Milton C. Borrell on Feb. 13, 1970, in Hastings; he preceded her in death on June 3, 2017.

Olga worked at Mary Lanning Healthcare in the housekeeping department. She was a past member of the Eagles and South Central Czech Society. Olga enjoyed puzzles, card games, and playing pitch.

Olga was preceded in death by her parents; husband, Milton C. Borrell; step-son, Milton Borrell Jr.; step-daughter, Donna Borrell; brother, Milo Ptacek; brothers-in-law, John “Jack” Borrell, Leonard Borrell, and Arthur Borrell; and grandson, Josh Hedlund.

She is survived by her son and daughter-in-law Donald and Sharon Hedlund, Hastings; daughter, Vicki Hammonds Hastings; step sons, Raymond Borrell, Hastings, Neb. and Anthony Borrell, St. Louis, Mo.; four grandchildren, 11 great grandchilden, 10 great,great grandchilden; sister-in-law, Rita Ptacek, Winner and numerous nieces and nephews.