Two from Winner Regional Healthcare Center receive SDAHO Distinguished Service Award

Monica Metzger and Brian Schaeffer of Winner Regional Healthcare Center were honored Sept. 19 at the South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organization’s (SDAHO) 92nd Annual Convention in Sioux Falls.

Metzger, who is a physical therapist for Winner Regional, received the Distinguished Service Award for Young Professionals. Metzger was selected for her leadership in developing an in-house therapy program at the hospital, including physical, occupational and speech therapy services. She was also instrumental in helping lay the groundwork for Winner Regional offering total joint replacements.

Schaeffer received the Distinguished Service Award for Trustees. He has served on the Winner Regional Healthcare Center’s board of trustees for the past 10 years, with the last three years as president of the board. He was noted for his quiet and calm manner while being a strong and wise advisor who has helped to weather difficulties and make hard decisions.

Metzger and Schaeffer were two of eight people to receive a SDAHO Distinguished Service Award. Others who received awards were: John Porter of Avera Health, Health Care Professional; Sen. Deb Soholt, State Legislator; Walter Panzirer of The Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust, Health Care Hero; Lt. Gov. Matt Michels, State Official; Vanessa Gomez of KSFY Television, Media Personality; and Sarah Talbott, Sanford Chamberlain, Post Acute Care Champion.

SDAHO is a not-for-profit member organization representing and serving hospitals, health care systems, nursing facilities, home health agencies, assisted living centers and hospice organizations across South Dakota. For more information, visit

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *