Pink Posse Event Set for Sept. 26

LeAnn Thieman

LeAnn Thieman will be the speaker at the 2015 Pink Flamingo Ladies Night Out on Sept. 26 at St. Mary’s Hall. The doors will open at 6 p.m. The topic of Thieman’s talk will be “Balancing Life in Your War Zone.”

The Winner Area Breast Cancer and Support group (Pink Posse) encourages all women to come and join in an evening of friends, fellowship, fun and food. The group will celebrate and support those who have fought their battle with breast cancer.

Road Race Winners

Road Race2015 medal winners

Kade Watson and Sydney Schuyler were the overall 5K winners in the Winner Regional Healthcare Center road race.
The overall one mile winners were Pierce Nelson and Cici Watson.
Race results include:
Mens 5K
0-18—1. Kade Watson, 2. Brendan Collins, 3. Izak Moleterno
19-49—1. Todd Crooks, 2. Delbert Black Bear, 3. Jon Hanson
Women 5K
0-18—1. Sydney Schuyler, 2. Sarah Keefe
19-49—1. Calley Schuyler, 2. Leslie Bowar, 3. Amy McCullough
50 Plus—1. Kay Ducheneaux-Studeman
Mens 1 mile
0-18—1. Pierce Nelson 2. Carter Craven 3. Roper Moore
19-49—1. Aric Craven
50 +–1. Dr. Tony Berg
Women’s one mile
0-18—1. Cici Watson, 2. Ava Craven, 3. Torre Buus
19-49—1. Ashley Robbins
There were several walkers who took part in the race.
Road race partners include: Lil’ Feller, Pink Posse, Winner Area Chamber of Commerce, Winner Physical Therapy and Winner Regional Clinic.

road race plaque winners

Flag Football Practice to Start


Tripp County NFL football league will conduct its practice on Aug. 27. The 4th and 5th graders will practice at 6:30 p.m. and the 2nd and 3rd graders at 7 p.m. The practice will be held at Warrior Field.

This is the practice when the players get to meet their coaches and find out which team they will on this season. The coaches are junior and senior high school football players from Winner and Colome.

Games will start on Aug. 29 and will run until Sept. 26.  Any questions concerning flag football can be directed to Brian Naasz at 842-0205 or 842-8170.

On the Campus

Area students have been named to the dean’s list at the University of South Dakota.
The students include: Josey Blare, Carter; Logan Welker, Hamill; Ashley Curtis, Clay Hoffman, Jacob Naasz, Michelle Novak, Raysha Gardner, Shawntessa Lester, Tracy Routh, all of Winner.

Pahlke graduates from UNL.

Rachel Pahlke of Winner graduated this summer from the University of Nebraska at Lincoln. The commencement was held Aug. 15.
She earned a bachelor of science degree from the College of Arts and Sciences.

Hall of Fame Nominations Sought

The 2015-2016 Winner Hall of Fame selection committee will be meeting the first week of September. If anyone would like to nominate an individual for the committee to consider, please pick up a form at the Winner School administration office at 431 E. 7th St or go the Winner School District website for information. Once a candidate is nominated he or she will stay on file for consideration each year by the selection committee. A current list of nominations can be found on the school district website.

The committee will be selecting 4-6 new inductees into the hall of fame this year.

Four Injured in Rollover

A Nebraska woman and three boys were injured following a rollover in Tripp County Friday afternoon.  The incident occurred shortly after 2 p.m. on Highway 183, 5 miles north of Witten.

Amber Baker, 37, Kearney, Neb., was driving a GMC Envoy north when she attempted to pass a horse trailer. While attempting to pass, she saw two southbound motorcycles coming and swerved back into the northbound lane and lost control. The vehicle went into the ditch and rolled.

Baker and three juveniles were treated for minor injuries. All four were wearing seat belts.

Local Teacher Completes National Food Safety and Nutrition Training



Kristie Storms, a teacher at Monterey High School in Lubbock, TX, was one of 34 teachers nationwide chosen to complete a food science training program developed and implemented in a partnership between the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), and Graduate School USA. The one-week program for middle and high school science teachers, as well as family and consumer science and health education teachers, took place in Washington this summer.
Storms is the daughter of Dean and Nancy Storms of Millboro.

Kristie Storms also received a $30,000 fellowship from the Helen Jones Foundation Inc. to Texas Tech in order to pursue her doctorate degree.

4-Hers Place at State Horse Show

soles and rutten state horse show

Rylee Rutten placed third in senior reining at the state horse show in Huron.

Other state horse show results from Tripp County 4-Hers area:

Michaela Bachmann–senior team hitch driving, blue
Bailey Fairbanks–beginner stock seat equitation, blue and beginner western, blue; showmanship purple
Rylee Rutten—senior reining, blue; senior trail, blue; senior breakaway roping, white
Lesley Soles—senior trail, blue; senior reining, red; senior stock seat equitation, white

fairbanks   state horse show